Lifestyle

10 Things I Wish I’d Known In My First Year of Uni

Starting university can be really daunting. After all, it’s a big jump from living at home to moving to a whole new city and living independently, probably for the first time. It isn’t an easy transition. Regardless of how self-sufficient (or not!) you are, it’s definitely a big change. I know I felt so intimidated at the thought of starting university. Moving to a city 300 miles away from everyone I know, living with 6 people I’ve never met, as well as navigating the world of uni and work filled me actual DREAD just as much as excitement. Personally, in the days leading up to freshers I was absolutely shitting it terrified! My nerves soon settled down once I realised that everyone’s pretty much in the same boat but there’s definitely some things I wish I’d known before starting university. In light of this, I thought I’d share this list with you in the hopes that  it helps you prepare – and feel less nervous – about the big move.

10 things you need to know before you start university

1. Making friends will be easier than you expect. Most people really (no, really!) are not dicks, and while you’ll find at least a few difficult people everywhere you go, the majority are decent people. Bonding during freshers will probably be easier than you expect. And besides, wherever you go in life they’ll always be someone who won’t like you – focus on the people that do.

2. Leading on from this – everyone feels awkward during freshers! I honestly don’t know a single person who didn’t experience some awkwardness or social mishap during the first few weeks of uni. Everyone’s in the same boat.

3. The workload will be more than you expect. Everyone knows that uni work is a step up from college and A levels. Whatever background you’ve come from – it’s likely that studying for a degree will require more from you. After essentially being spoon-fed a lot at college (alongside a lot of independent study) 2 months in the workload truly hit me and I had a small break down. Please, don’t put things off! Take it from me – I put everything off in my first year and actually failed one of my assignments due to the stress. Do as I say, not as I do! Seriously though, ya girl buckling down this year – I already have most of my books out and some notes made. I am truly swotting it up and trying after years of being the biggest procrastinator. Even if your first year doesn’t count towards your degree, you still want to get into a routine and keep your attendance and grades up as potential employers are free to ask the uni for this information! (eek)

4. You’ll adjust quickly to living on your own. You definitely learn a lot of things in your first year – like how to get stains out of clothes and balance responsibilities and housework with, well, the rest of your life.

5. It’s uni. There might be a lot of alcohol. Alcohol is fun. But you don’t need to drink all of the alcohol – or even any – to have a good time. I’ve never experienced this myself but if you do feel pressured to drink and you really would rather not – don’t do it. If someone’s going to judge you for not wanting to effectively poison your liver for the purpose of a good time then they’re a bit of a dick, really. Also you’ll be much healthier than those of us who do drink.

6. Again with the alcohol -freshers will be fun, it might get a bit mental but if you’re feeling up to it you’ll make lifelong memories. For example, I’ll never forget the time my housemate peed in front of the university. *wipes tear* Honestly though, please don’t feel pressured to do anything you wouldn’t normally just because ‘it’s uni’. You don’t need to impress anyone.

7. You’ll develop a love/hate relationship with your student loan – When is it due? Why can’t it be due sooner? Why is it still not in my bank account? Is it coming at all? Oh look, I’ve gone above my overdraft limit. *begrudgingly rings SFE*

8. Making phone calls will become a part of life. Yes, the dreaded Adulting. Doctors, dentists, the bank, your phone network, Student Finance, the tax office. I could go on but it’s making my palms sweat. Ya just got to do it, friends.

9. Unless you live on your own, the washing up will never be done. Just accept this. I used to stress over the pots piling up it but now I just do my own and accept that student housing is never going to be the tidiest.

10. At some point during your first year, you’ll probably spend way too much money on food. And I don’t mean stocking your fridge. No – for me coming to uni began a long, bad habit of buying excessive takeaways and eating out. There’s a reason why ‘Fresher-man 15’ is a thing and it’s true for me – uni’s made me thic guys. And it’s not exactly friendly to your wallet either. I plan to budget everything as soon as I get my student loan -I still eat out more than I should but I also make sure to plan meals and cook at least one meal a day – and I always eat 3 meals when I can. Takeaways have also reverted back to being an occasional treat. Aaand now I’m thinking of the salt and pepper chicken from my favourite Chinese. No Amy, RESTRAINT.

Hopefully this post made you feel better about the prospect of uni. Despite all the changes, it’s really nothing to be scared off! It’s natural to be nervous, especially about the social side of uni but try not to let it ruin your experience! I was fully prepared to hide in my room all week during freshers but I went out and talked to people and made some memories. And now I’m living in a shared house with one of my previous flatmates and we couldn’t be closer! So things will work out! Moving to university has been the best thing I ever did for myself and, as cringey as it sounds – if I can do it, you totally can too!

-Amy x

2 thoughts on “10 Things I Wish I’d Known In My First Year of Uni

Leave a comment