Beauty & Style

Skincare as Selfcare & Products I Use

TBS-skincare-vite-01

The amount of times I’ve fallen asleep with a full face of makeup is not something I’m proud of. In fact, when I was younger – as many teenagers do at some point – I hated to be seen without makeup. Covering my ‘flaws’, enhancing my ‘natural features’ (no pubescent Amy, that foundation is NOT your shade) was addictive. These days I can face(no pun intended) leaving the house without makeup, and I welcome bare, fresh-faced days. Although I usually sneak a good concealer and maybe some powder on me in case I want to look a bit less Gollum-like. As for skincare, I understood the term ‘moisturising’, but cleansing, exfoliating and…toning? What? I thought that’s what happens when you work out. Nowadays, I’ve actually developed something resembling a skincare routine – as in, I do it twice a day, every day, most days. Sometimes I forget, but more often then not it’s an automatic habit to reach for the cleanser and cotton pads.

After straying from YouTube one night and having a mooch on the wonderful Lucy Moons blog, her post In Defence of Skincare got me thinking about my own relationship with skincare. She discusses some 100% valid and important issues concerning the beauty industry, Feminism and how skincare is more then simply what we put on our face.

tbs-skincare-02.jpg

Having a skincare routine is important to me. No, I’m not going to sweat it if I forget to take my makeup off, or if I don’t follow all of the steps. I’ll probably get a few spots but it’s no big deal, they’ll go in a few days. After waking up so many times with a tear/mascara stained face, it feels so good to wake up to fresh, clean skin. Not to mention the relief of removing my makeup and actually taking care of my skin before I go to bed!

It’s important because it’s the only time I really look at my bare face without the intent of ‘fixing it’ – of getting ready to go somewhere or do something, of looking ‘presentable‘ to the world. Instead, I’m dressing down for the night, unwinding. I’m seeing myself, as I am now, in the present moment. It’s doing something that’s just for me and taking care of my skin, just because it feels good. Just because I want to. And even on the days where I don’t want to, when I’m feeling lazy or my head is heavy or I can’t bring myself to do anything else, my skin-care routine becomes a scrap of normalcy, a defiant act of self-care. Such a small, simple thing becomes less about hygiene or cosmetics and more about a sense of liberation, of keeping my head above the water.

As Lucy says ‘…Skincare is so much more than just products. Looking after your skin is just like looking after the rest of your body; in the same way that I look after my mental health, or go to the doctor when I’m unwell, I think skincare is just another part of your temple that’s worth maintaining, however big your budget.’

Skincare is a pick me up. It’s empowering and confidence boosting to take care of your self, and it genuinely benefits my mental health and general well-being. Of course, if you couldn’t care less about skincare products, that’s all good. It’s all about what works for you and improves your well-being.

skincare-post-pin.png
pin me

So that’s where I’m at with skincare as a concept, but what about the products?

As some of you may remember, I did a brief stint as a The Body shop Consultant last year, and I received a bunch of products after registering. The Vitamin E collection has lasted me all year and remains a favourite. I have combination skin with a tendency to develop an oily T-zone and these products have definitely helped me during the summer months when I’m prone to oiliness and spots. They keep my skin moisturised, prevent build up of bacteria, and in the case of the Hydrating Face Mist – keep my skin cool and my makeup intact! It’s the most refreshing thing to spritz this on your face on a hot day. I like to take it out and about to work with me, so I can just pick it up and cool myself down even if I’m on a sweaty, crowded bus.

THESE ARE THE SKINCARE STEPS I GENERALLY DO EACH DAY:

  1. I’m still using up my Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water (not CF) so every morning and evening I dap some of that on a cotton pad to remove the majority of my makeup and freshen up my face. Then I’ll use TBS Vitamin E Cream Cleanser which leaves my skin feeling so soft. Cream cleansers can be heavy but this one has a light silky texture and a little goes a long way!tbs-skincare04.jpg
  2. I then use the Vitamin E Hydrating Toner on my face and neck to remove any stubborn bits of mascara/dirt and restore my skins PH balance.
  3. I usually apply some undereye cream because ya girl has some serious eye baggage – currently I’ve been using a sample of Clinique All About Eyes. I haven’t noticed a significant difference (considering the retail price) but it does reduce puffiness and is hydrating and gentle on the undereye area. I also like to moisturise my lips while I’m at it so I’ll slap on some Vaseline Rosy Lips. tbs-skincare-03.jpg
  4. At night, I’ll usually finish with TBS Vitamin E Night Cream which is a bit more rich and hydrating then the day cream and really sinks into your skin. Like the whole Vitamin E Collection, it smells amazing – it’s a very subtle scent but it’s definitely more noticeable with the night cream. I personally love it, it’s such a fresh, soothing scent that I believe has something to do with wheatgerm oil? In the mornings I’ve been using this Malibu SPF30 Face Cream that I got from Poundland because, well, SPF. It has a light sunscreen-y smell, and you only need a tiny amount as it’s quite an oily cream, but it sinks in quickly and leaves a good base for makeup.

I may even continue using this cream into the winter months, though I admit it feels silly applying SPF with the amount of sunlight we have in the UK. Nothing but clouds. Clouds and rain. For months. Hello, seasonal depression!Candles! Seriously though, I’m much more susceptible to depression during the winter so seeing skincare as an act of self-care, not to mention hygiene (TAKE YOUR MAKEUP OFF AT NIGHT) is very helpful.

I’m on the look out for a new eye cream and lip balm so I there might be another skincare post next month, especially since the weather is changing. I don’t know about you but I can’t wait for those spooky Autumn vibes and all the pretty colours!

I hope that you enjoyed this post – let me know what skin care products you’ve been loving this summer. Will you be changing it up as the weather gets colder?

-Amy x

3 thoughts on “Skincare as Selfcare & Products I Use

  1. I totally agree about skincare routine- it’s the only time of the day that is solely yours to just be. It’s so important to have the moments where we aren’t criticizing ourselves or looking for flaws we can fix, but rather just spending time being ourselves

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m constantly going to sleep with makeup on at the moment – it’s awful! I love the Vitamin E range too, particularly the toner – I couldn’t be without it! They were sold out last time I went so I picked up the Aloe one instead and it’s just not the same. I suppose that when you find The One, you know it!
    Hannah | Whoops It’s Hannah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh noo! I feel you, it’s so bad but sometimes you just can’t motivate yourself. The toner makes my skin feel amazing! I haven’t tried any of the Aloe range but I know what you mean, I’m quite hooked on the vit E after using them for a year!

      Like

Leave a comment